How I Created An Award-Winning Podcast

Mathew Sweezey
3 min readAug 2, 2019

Podcasts have become the new email newsletter. In the beginning, both formats were novel, but quickly the supply far exceeded the demand. Branded podcasts tend to follow a pretty basic mold and operate as a local news channel; light on real insights, heavy on opinion, low production quality, and anchored by talking heads.

I didn’t like those, so I decided to do something different.

It started as a passion project, then quickly turned into an award-winning (2 Platinum Hermes awards, 2 Platinum dotCOMM awards, 1 SAC silver for Programing/Branded Content) podcast. The vibe of the podcast is anything but typical, and quoting one fan:

“It sounds like Freakonomics and Serial had a marketing podcast baby”.

I was able to break out of the mold and create something truly unique, and 4X award-winning. Here is how.

It’s a Mini-Series, not a Show

First was in the format of the podcast. Podcasts tend to be long on episodes and short on production quality. When a show has to constantly create new episodes they often do so at the expense of production quality.

So rather than trying to create a “Show”, I created a “mini-series”. This was by design. There are only 9 episodes, each is highly produced with new insights, data, and a level of audio production that just isn’t possible with a weekly show and a small team (just me).

Here are all 9:

<iframe width=”100%” height=”450" scrolling=”no” frameborder=”no” allow=”autoplay” src=”https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/users/179042657&color=%23ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&show_teaser=true"></iframe>

Double Down on Story, Data, and Perspective

Most podcasts resemble newsroom style productions. They tend to be great at covering lots of ground but poor on unique perspective or insights. I decided to go in the opposite and opted for a script over a conversation, proprietary research, and wrapped it all into a compelling storyline.

This process is not quick, or easy. I spent 2 years going deep into consumer behavior, media, and many other aspects of marketing often glossed over on other programs. I consulted with professors, researchers, and people who looked at many of these topics from different angles.

This set of data and insights created a very specific story that only I could tell, from a perspective my listeners had never heard.

Next, I wrote a script that would be interesting, and really allow me to display the research and data in a narrative form. That worked! To quote one listener;

“Holy f**k. This is so good. This leans right into the Post-Advertising world we’re in right now. The way you presented was so good. Left me hanging and wanting MORE.”

Turns out I wasn’t the only one who wanted more.

The Purpose Behind the Podcast

The final key to creating a loved podcast is to have a purpose past your own profit. I didn’t create The Electronic Propaganda Society to tell you about my brand, build a market, or make money. I don’t want to become a podcaster, a consultant, or your guru. My goal isn’t to make money, sell you something, or build an audience. My goal was to spark a conversation and make you think critically. That is it.

I produced this podcast out of a love for the topic, and out of my own desire to create. My love for the topic made countless hours of research, recording, and editing exciting. Without a deep love for your topic driving you to go the many extra miles, your podcast will sound like everyone else’s. There must be a passion or a purpose behind your effort and that must be evidently clear to your listener.

Want to give it a listen — Find it where you get your fix

Podcasts are the new email newsletter. In the beginning, they are novel, but quickly the supply far exceeds the demand. Just like newsletters they will always have value if you can create the desired experience with them. If you want to create a loved, and award-winning podcast the road map I used isn’t rocket science. It’s dead simple and the same formula that works for so many things. Find a fresh perspective, support it with fresh data, and don’t skimp on production. The extra effort is what will set you apart.

--

--

Mathew Sweezey

Director of Market Strategy @Salesforce, Author of The Context Marketing Revolution (HBR 20), and contributor to Forbes, AdAge. Covering the Future of Marketing